from a place of love: Helga + Sage

On a quiet Saturday morning I called two friends to our ballet school to photograph. Curtains and a bedsheet created a white infinity. A few photos later, we were done within the hour. We went to a friend’s apartment and had a holiday party potluck. Pasta, music, a dark scavenger hunt with a reckless energy.

Then I went home and wrote all over my photographs with these words so important to me. These words fit my friends. I can hear their voices speaking the sentences aloud. I asked to take their pictures not because of how they looked, but because I could feel them everyday expressing the same ideas that I wrote on these photos. My friends are empowered and speak what is most important for people to hear.
Processed with VSCO with jm1 preset

allbodies

Processed with VSCO with jm1 preset

What I do I do for myself. I do not need your approval because you are not me.
All bodies are beautiful.
I never cry, so am I a man?

Processed with VSCO with jm1 preset

Processed with VSCO with jm1 preset

Thank you Helga and Sage.

Leave a Reply

